Normal Lunch: On The Go Edition

Raise your hand if your kids have had frozen chicken nuggets for lunch for the past 4 days in a row. … Yeah. I raised my hand, too. Lunch for my kids is something that has been hard for me as a mom. I am always in a rush to get them fed and in bed so I can have my quiet time.

So, this week, I’m going to throw some ideas at you to help you spice things up a bit. Don’t worry. I’m not judging you for your chicken nugget habit. I’m just giving us both a bit of a kick in the pants.

**Note: If you’re looking for kids lunches with sandwiches cut to look like woodland creatures with banana and raisin eyes, you’ve come to the wrong place. Those lunches aren’t normal.**

Today, we look at lunch in the car without stopping at the drive-thru.

When we plan to eat in the car, which is sometimes unavoidable, if I have even a little bit of advanced warning, I can take a car picnic, which saves money and is more healthy. Here’s how I do it:

I put each food item in it’s own container. Maybe that’s Tupperware or maybe it’s Ziploc bags. As I’m putting each item away, I count to make sure I know how many each kid will get to make serving easier. They’ll fight if things aren’t equal. If I can squelch a car fight, I will. After that, I make sure our car plates are clean. That’s really it. It can be as little or as much work as you want. We do last-second bologna, pretzels and bananas and we do what I’ve done here. Use your imagination and save your money!

Ham roll-ups, homemade potato chips, grapes, carrots and dip.

20130610-124710.jpg
An easy way to transport veggies and dip is like this.

20130610-125020.jpg
Homemade Potato Chips
2 potatoes
1 T. Oil of your choice (I use canola.)
Salt

Preheat 400.
Slice potatoes on a mandolin.
Rinse them in cold water then dry them with paper towels.
Toss them with oil and salt.
Spread in 1 layer on a GREASED cookie sheet and bake for 15-25 minutes. They’ll be crispy when they’re done.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

