I Want To Buy You A Beach… Read.

My first giveaway! Aw! I feel like I should cut off a piece of my hair and tape it to a book or something.

Or I could just give one of you guys a book. With no hair in it. Or I could put some hair in it if you’re into that.

I bought this book on my birthday. I’d read another book, Gone Girl, by this same author and I’d heard that this one was better.

I heard right.

20130530-001201.jpg

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn is a book that I couldn’t put down.

It’s about a young woman, Libby Day, who, as a child, escaped from her rural Kansas home while her mother and two sisters were being murdered in the next room. In the months that follow, 7-year-old Libby’s confession causes her older brother, Ben, to be found guilty of murdering his family.

In her late twenties now, Libby has long since buried any memories of that night. But as they start to resurface, her memories reveal that maybe Ben didn’t do it after all. Or did he? Or didn’t be? Or did he?

Or didn’t he?

You should read this. It would be a fantastic beach read. I’ll even buy one of you your very own copy.

The Giveaway
I will be giving away one new paperback copy of Dark Places by Gillian Flynn. I will select one winner randomly. Contest ends at 11:59 p.m. EST on June 6, 2013. I will announce the winner via my blog on Monday, June 10, 2013 at 10:00 a.m. To enter, you must be an EMAIL (not Wordpess) subscriber to my blog and you must leave a comment on this post telling me which Shart Week post was your favorite. Β Must be 18 or older.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 thoughts on “I Want To Buy You A Beach… Read.

  1. Kristen Mennen says:

    I think by far, Heidi, my favorite Shart Week was the floor mat! I. could. not. stop. laughing!!!

  2. Marie Brady says:

    I two shart week stories that are tied for my favorite during the week:
    The story about Micah pooping his pants while house sitting and when you were sick with the flu and crapped all the way down the stairs! Lol. πŸ™‚

  3. Lindsay Lovell says:

    Okay, fine! I’ll leave a reply, but just at the chance to get a book. My favorite shart week post was about grandpa’s epic fart. The timeline format was a nice touch. P.S. If I don’t win, can I just borrow your copy?

  4. Shara Lyn says:

    I seriously stalked my email every morning last week waiting for your posts. I love a good fart/poop story. In fact, I have a couple I may give you permission to add to Shart Week 2014.
    As for my favorite, I think I laughed the loudest when I read the first one. “Mmmmm. Yum. Are we having tuna salad for dinner?!” Still giggling as I type it.

  5. Micah says:

    Your Shart Week timeline of grandpa’s fart was AMAZING! I was erupting into poorly constrained laughter in the office and was definitely getting some weird looks.

  6. Sarah says:

    It was egg salad, hands down! Both for how much I enjoyed it, and how much I enjoyed retelling it to the husband and watching him crack up over it too. Double the sulfur-y fun.

  7. sweetdreams2 says:

    I’ve been reading your blog since you started it and you crack me up constantly! My favorite shart week was the one about your grandpa! That sometimes awkward time when a new relationship meets family and what a way to meet them!! Love it.

    • Heidi says:

      I know! Those moments are so awkward anyway. Throw a fart into the mix, and its memorable, to say the least.

      Thank you so much for reading!

  8. rawginger says:

    Easily G and the fork. Mostly because I hope that, if I ever have children, that I will be able to say, “and this is why we don’t scratch our butthole with a plastic fork.”

  9. Alison says:

    Now who’s a douche??? NOT ME!!

  10. Alison says:

    My favorite Shart Week post was the “did you say my name?” Post. Laughed SOOO hard at that one.

  11. Bonnie says:

    Fine, I did it. Fav post = “longest fart ever” by grandpa. funny stuff. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

