Mermer Makes A Cake – Now With Memes!

My friend Megan turns 30 this week. In honor of that, she gets a birthday cake from Mermer.

********************

Mom bloggers fall into several categories. I’ll write more about those later, but today I’ll tell you which one I am, and which one I am NOT.

The one you’re used to seeing post recipes is Mommeigh. She takes natural light photographs of her ingredients in beautiful pottery. She sprinkles powdered sugar and takes pictures at the same time so you get a motion shot of the sugar. She never has cluttered counters. Her food always tastes good. I’m not her. She’s annoying.

I’m Mermer. As in, Erma says “Mommy”.

20130528-153731.jpg

My counters are cluttered, I haven’t showered, I make mistakes. My pictures are crappy. I am normal.

********************

This is my go-to cake. Everyone always loves it and its easy AND I usually have all of the stuff around to make it. Plus, it’s got 3 chocolate things in it. There’s nothing wrong with that.

First, preheat your oven to 350.

20130528-143429.jpg
Grease and flour a Bundt pan. As you can see, I didn’t flour my pan. It’s because I’m lazy. YOU should do it, though. Make sure to get in all the nooks and crannies and really douse that knobby middle thing.
20130528-143727.jpg
Now, go find this stuff.
20130528-143907.jpg
Dump all of it into the mixing bowl.
20130528-144330.jpg
Mix it together.
20130528-144430.jpg
OOPS! I forgot to tell you to have some chocolate chips ready. You know why? Because mine have been sitting on the oven this whole time melting into one giant chocolate chip.
20130528-144603.jpg
Meh. No worries. If that happens to you, just stab them with a fork like a lunatic.
20130528-144803.jpg
Dump those into the cake batter and mix it all up.
20130528-144857.jpg
Pour the batter into the pan and smooth it out.
20130528-144952.jpg
Finally, bake it, let it cool and then serve it.

20130528-145253.jpg

There you have it. This is what it looks like when a normal mom takes pictures while she’s cooking. And this cake is seriously awesome.

Triple Chocolate Bundt Cake

1 devil’s food cake mix
1 small instant chocolate pudding
8 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 3/4 c. milk
2 eggs
Preheat 350. Grease Bundt pan.
Combine cake mix, pudding mix, eggs and milk. Mix for 30 seconds on low speed, scrape the bowl down and then mix for 2 minutes on medium speed.
Add the chocolate chips; stir.
Pour batter into prepared pan; smooth out the top.
Bake for 50-55 minutes or until cake tests done.
Cool for 10 minutes in the pan and the remove from pan to cool on a rack.

Serves 12.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

