One Of Those Epic Moments

I think all of us girls (and some guys who won’t admit it) can think of a moment in a movie that was so romantic that you noticed, even as a child. Was it Rhett and Scarlett taking turns loving each other until they each were too stubborn to live happily ever after? Was it Anne Shirley refusing to feel what she felt for Gilbert Blythe because she somehow didn’t think she measured up? For me, both of those spoke volumes to my young heart about romance and love, but one set of star-crossed lovers stood out among the rest.

I remember the first time I watched Georg von Trapp dance the Laendler with Maria. The dance brings them closer and closer together, staring into each others’ eyes. He’s known it for a while, but Maria is naive. Then, suddenly, she understands the thing she can see in his eyes. But, she’s only the governess. He can’t love her! Maybe she’s wrong!

In her confusion, and with the urging of a conniving baroness, Helsa, she runs away, only to be told by her mentor to return and fulfill her destiny.

It took Captain von Trapp about two hours after Maria’s return to call off his engagement to the beautiful and voluptuous Helsa and kiss Maria in the gazebo.

When I was a little girl, I remember fast-forwarding through the mortifying gazebo scene on our taped-from-TV version of The Sound Of Music. Kissing?! Grody!

One day it just clicked, though. One day Liesl, the character I wanted to be, seemed to fade into the background as Maria emerged and her love story with Georg became epic.

Other love stories have stood out as I grew up, but this one was and still is the one that shines. I’m watching it right now with B. One day, maybe she’ll call this love story one that made an impression on her little heart.

What’s your favorite love story?

Tagged , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “One Of Those Epic Moments

  1. rawginger says:

    Pride and Prejudice. Forever and always.

    “You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.”

    I think it’s the word admire that always gets me.

  2. Alison says:

    Buttercup and Westley: I always wantes a kiss like theirs at the end.

    Baby and Johnny: Because nobody puts Baby in the corner.

    • Heidi says:

      Awesome! I never got into The Princess Bride because I never saw it when I was a kid. Now, it’s just cheesy. I wish I had it.

  3. Kristen Mennen says:

    Yes, that is exactly how I imagine falling in love again ❤

  4. Marcy says:

    The moment in “A Walk to Remember” when Landon takes Jamie to the state line and fulfills her dream to be in “2 places at once.” I don’t know why this gets to me, but I LOVE the idea that he shows her he loves her by helping her to achieve her seemingly impossible dreams.

Leave a Reply

