I Wish I Knew How To Quit You

In this week’s ...de l Semaine post, I have to come clean about something.

I can’t quit buying lip products. Seriously. It’s a known fact that I have a problem similar to this involving nail polish, but my lip products addiction has been in the closet for years. I fall for every ad, no matter what it promises. I actually believe that my lips will look exactly like Drew Barrymore’s in Cover Girl stain or exactly like Gwen Stefani’s in L’Oreal reds. In reality, my lips are still thin, fine-lined, chapped, white-girl lips.

Anyway, as you may have figured out, my favorite thing for this week is a lip product.

20130507-155937.jpg

This is Sugar Lip Treatment by Fresh. I’m not sure where the name comes from. It’s not an exfoliating product nor is it sweet. It’s a lip balm. The company says that it:

moisturizes, protects, and smoothes the lips with a proprietary blend of moisture-preserving sugar, nourishing precious oils, antioxidant-rich polyphenols, and essential SPF protection.

Ohhh. It has some sort of sugar in it. M’kay.

So, I got this as my birthday gift from Sephora. If you’re a member of their rewards program, you get a treat on your birthday. One year I got some Philosophy shampoo in a smaller-than-standard-but-not-samplel size. These lip balms are mini, which means they’ve given me enough to become addicted to a $23 lip balm before I run out.

Good News: This product is amazing. I’d pay $23 for this lip balm. I sure would. I’d be THAT girl with the $23 lip balm. It’s silky. It has SPF 15. It’s thick. It’s resilient. It doesn’t annoy me. It doesn’t taste bad. It doesn’t move around into places it doesn’t belong. Basically, it’s the best balm I’ve ever tried. As I mentioned above, that’s a LOT of lip balms. This one is basically perfect.

Bad News: Fresh claims it lasts for 6 hours, which is false. It lasted for 3 on me, but honestly, that’s fabulous staying power for a balm. Balm usually doesn’t survive a nose-blow. Fresh also claims that the flavor or scent or whatever is citrusy and I will become addicted to it. There isn’t even a hint of citrus in this stuff. Nothing. It smells/tastes like lipstick. *shrug*

You can buy Sugar Lip Treatment at Sephora, Amazon and other fine retailers, I’m sure. It comes in the clear and Rosé colors (swatches below) as I’ve shown you. It also comes in Plum, Coral, Berry, Petal, Passion and Honey.

What products are you loving this spring?

20130507-171247.jpg

20130507-171258.jpg

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “I Wish I Knew How To Quit You

  1. Christina says:

    I’m always eyeing that up at sephora. Totally thought it was a sugar lip scrub.

    • Heidi says:

      They DO make a sugar lip scrub, too. It comes in a little pot. I’ve been looking at these for a while myself. I’m a sucker for packaging. The tubes and caps are metal. *drool*

Leave a Reply

