Open! Free Book Inside!

Not really. I’ll give you guys some crap soon, though.

As a full-time mom, I don’t get loads of time to read. Fortunately, I read fast enough to make even a small block of reading during my day worth it. This week, I’m obsessed with a book I’ve heard lots of good things about. It’s the first in a series and as of right now, I’m hooked.

This isn’t a real review because I’m not done with the book yet. But in the brand new tradition of my Friday “…de la Semaine” posts that I’ll probably get tired of doing soon, I’m just filling you in on a trivial thing that I liked this week.

20130422-172526.jpg

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

First, I started reading this because its come very highly recommended to me. I was really hoping the Outlander series was the historical fiction version of George R. R. Martin’s A Song Of Ice And Fire series. Alas, it is not, but more on that in a minute.

The general premise: This girl and her husband go on vacation in the Scottish Highlands. It’s 1940something and the couple needed a break from the war. Then, she touches this big stone in one of those ancient stone circles and – WOOPSIE – she’s gone back in time to 1743. She’s still in Scotland and is super confused. She has to make dangerous alliances to survive and – What’s this? – is she, a married woman, falling in love with a man from the past?!

Sounds cheesy, right? Yeah. It is, but it has entrapped me in its tangled web. I was so desperately hoping that this series would be more of a quality read. Instead, it’s fluff. It reads like a romance novel but with less descriptions of the headstrong leading lady’s current attire in painful detail. There’s a little more substance; more meat to chew on… except its more of a pressed and formed patty, not a choice cut.

Still, I’m entertained to the point of obsession. Fluff lovers and historical fiction lovers will love it. Someone in search of a deeper cut will be disappointed.

There you have it. This was my first not-really-a-review review. What are you reading?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Open! Free Book Inside!

  1. Bek says:

    I kept trying to read it, but I just couldn’t get into it… You’re right, it’s the fluff. I can’t handle fluff.
    Except on a sandwich with peanut butter. Or in fudge. Mmmm. Yum, fluff.

  2. rawginger says:

    I LOVE fluff. It’s my escape.

Leave a Reply

