Song de la Semaine – 4.18.13

Whenever I get a song stuck in my soul, I spend about a day texting, calling and emailing every person I know who might appreciate having a new song to obsess over. I like sharing music. It’s one of those things in life that gives me the kind of deep, quiet joy that makes you fall asleep smiling. I understand that this makes me cheesy or possibly too easily pleased with myself. I’m not really inclined to care because this song is so infectiously happy that I can’t be brought down today.

20130422-215416.jpg

Meet Olly Murs. He’s an English bloke who hasn’t yet turned 30. His album, Right Place Right Time, saw it’s U.S release on Tuesday and I encourage you all to check it out. I’ve been playing it non-stop on Spotify since II first saw it and I’m hooked. It’s pop but it feels different than what’s going on in U.S. pop right now. Although, I do live in the Midwest so I’m sure we’re at least a year behind on anything “popular” and maybe I’m late to this party. And if you’re from Britain and are ready this, I realize I’m about 3 years late to the party, but feel free to comment and let me know what you think about this guy.

So, back to the song du jour. It’s “Heart Skips A Beat”. If this song doesn’t make you twerk yourself into a slipped disc, then I’m not sure you’re twerkable at all. Which is sad.

WHERE are my piña coladas!!?? And the spoon I’m going to eat him up with?

For my friends who aren’t familiar with the beautiful French language, “de la semaine” means “of the week.”

What are you listening to?

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Song de la Semaine – 4.18.13

  1. Kristen Mennen says:

    This song is much better than 98 Degrees, “Microphone”!!! Just sayin’ that the boy band are “has-beens” in the music byz. Also, I think this song choice is much more mature than Justin Bieber.

Leave a Reply

