My Heaven: Version 1

I’ve been toying with the idea of this blog mini-series since I started writing this blog. So, you know, for a WHOLE WEEK! I know what you’re thinking. How can she pour so much of her life into one line of thought? For you, dear reader. I’ve done it for you. And if you know me, you know that linear is a word most people would use to describe me… er…

Anyway, this is the first installment into a series about the places on this planet that I consider to be just shy of the real thing. You might agree and relate. You might think I’m insane. You might have already clicked over to Facebook because you think I’m boring. No matter! Here I go.

Go here with me for a minute: you walk into this amazing environment and the first thing you notice is the silence. Or maybe you only notice that if you have 4 small gremlins pawing at you for every moment you’re awake. Anyway, imagine that you notice that. You see lots of comfortable places to sit as you venture inward, but that’s not what’s drawing you in. It’s what you’re surrounded by. Amidst this silence, you’re in the company of thousands of voices. They want you, Malachi. Not creepy-style voices. The voices of men and women and sometimes children who at one point in their lives had something to say; something that was important.

Are you there? Good, because I’m tired of painting this picture.

Yeah, it’s a library. I’m also tired of creating suspense.

I feel something when I’m in a library. It’s so quiet and I can hear my own thoughts. When you pick up a book, they have that crinkly, plastic wrapper on them to save them from the wear and tear of being read many times. When you flip it open the pages rustle and blow a breeze on your face. They smell like love and time and probably like someone else’s sneeze and poop germs, if we’re keeping it real.

All of those things combine to put me in a state of awe. Libraries give me peace deep inside my soul. I could spend cumulative years inside one. In Heaven, I hope there’s a massive one.

For now, I’ll just wander around inside the one that I call mine. I love it so much that it might as well be Heaven.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

